icon Want to Collaborate?
Contact Us
icon Support our Charity
Stroke Unit
icon Studentship
Contact Us

Professor Declan Lyons

Professor Declan Lyons

Professor Medical Science & Consultant Physician

Mid Western Regional Hospital
061 482491
declan@3bv.org

Profile:

Graduate of UCD 1987 and did his house jobs at the Mater Dublin before taking an MSc in Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Aberdeen. He worked as Registrar in Medicine at Aberdeen Teaching Hospitals and took his MD thesis at The University of Aberdeen in 1992. He moved to King’s College Hospital London in 1994 as Lecturer and subsequently Senior Lecturer in Medicine for Elderly & Honorary Consultant Physician. He moved to his current post in his native Limerick in 1997. He is chairman of the Expert Advisory Group on Ageing to the HSE.
Research interests are in the areas of pharmacology of ageing and vascular pharmacology with particular clinical research interests in syncope, hypertension, nitric oxide biology, osteoporosis and osteovascular instability. Previous projects have assessed the effect of blood pressure normalisation on nitric oxide dependent vasodilatation in hypertension, the effect of ageing on nitric oxide mediated and sympathetically mediated vasoactivity, the interaction between the renin angiotensin and sympathetic nervous systems, tissue actions of ACE inhibitors and characterisation of age related vascular changes in health, hypertension and stroke. Current work has centred on the elucidation of the pathogenic mechanisms that underlie various syncopal syndromes eg orthostatic hypotension, variants of carotid sinus syndrome. More recently a common pathogenic relationship between bone strength, skeletal muscle activity and blood vessel function in old age (osteovascular instability) is the subject several studies by Prof Lyons’ group.


Dr David Clinch

Dr David Clinch

Consultant Physician


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 482329
david@3bv.org

Dr Margaret O’Connor

Dr Margaret O’Connor

Lecturer in Medicine


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 482623
margareto@3bv.org

Dr Catherine Peters

Dr Catherine Peters

Specialist Registrar


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 301111
catherinep@3bv.org

Dr John Cooke

Dr John Cooke

Specialist Registrar & Research Fellow

Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 301111
johnc@3bv.org

Dr Colin Quinn

Dr Colin Quinn

Specialist Registrar


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 301111
colin@3bv.org

Dr Brian Clarke

Dr Brian Clarke

Specialist Registrar


Mid Western Regional Hospital

 
brian@3bv.org

Dr Fiona O'Sullivan

Dr Fiona O'Sullivan

Specialist Registrar


Mid Western Regional Hospital

 
fiona@3bv.org

Dr Christopher Molefe

Dr Christopher Molefe

Registrar


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 301111
chris@3bv.org

Sr. Aine Costello

Sr. Aine Costello

Sister CAAU


Clinical Age Assesment Unit

061 482623
aine@3bv.org

Tina Sheehy

Tina Sheehy

Clinical Nurse Specialist Functional Gerontology

Clinical Age Assesment Unit

061 482623
tina@3bv.org

Sheila Carew

Sheila Carew

Research Nurse


Clinical Age Assesment Unit

061 482623
sheila@3bv.org

Sr. Caroline O’Connor

NAME

Sister Medical Day Hospital


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
carolineo@3bv.org

Caroline Ryan

Caroline Ryan

Clinical Nurse Specialist Bone Health

Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
caroliner@3bv.org

Margaret Ryan

Margaret Ryan

Staff Nurse (Falls)


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
margaretr@3bv.org

Frances Casey

Frances Casey

Staff Nurse (Stroke)


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
frances@3bv.org

Oonagh Condon

Oonagh Condon

Staff Nurse (Osteoporosis)


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
oonagh@3bv.org

Siobhan Ward

Siobhan Ward

Staff Nurse (Falls & Bones)


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
siobhan@3bv.org

Joan Egan

Joan Egan

Cardiovascular Technician


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
joane@3bv.org

Sandra Fahy

Sandra Fahy

Administrative Assisstant


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
sandra@3bv.org

Sr. Rosemary O’Riordan

Sr. Rosemary O’Riordan

Sister Rehab & Stroke Unit


St Camillus Hospital

061 483640
rehab@3bv.org

Sr. Patricia Moloney

Sr. Patricia Moloney

Sister Rehab & Stroke Unit


St Camillus Hospital

061 483640
patricia@3bv.org

Maria Carroll

Maria Carroll

Secretary to Prof Lyons


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 482491
maria@3bv.org

Pamela Greaney

Pamela Greaney

Secretary to CAAU

Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 482623
pamela@3bv.org

Joan O'Toole

Joan O'Toole

Secretary to Dr Clinch


Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 482329
joano@3bv.org

Liz McCormack

Liz McCormack

Secretary Rehab Unit


Medical Day Hospital, St Camillus

061 483651
liz@3bv.org

Tina O'Donoghue

Tina O'Donoghue

Private Secretary to Prof Lyons

1 Verona Villas, O'Connell Avenue, Limerick

verona@3bv.org

Sr Eileen Crowley

Sr Eileen Crowley

Clinical Nurse Specialist Rehabilitation

St Ita's Newcastlewest


eileen@3bv.org

Mags Richardson

Mags Richardson

Clinical Nurse Specialist Parkinsons

Mid Western Regional Hospital

061 301111
mags@3bv.org